A+ Information

What is A+ Certification?
CompTIA A+ is the industry standard for getting a job in technical support and establishing an IT career. A+ Certified Candidates are better prepared to troubleshoot and problem solve, understand a wide variety of issues ranging from networking and operating systems to mobile devices and security.

What is the Value of A+ Certification?
CompTIA A+ is the preferred qualifying credential for technical support and IT operational roles. In order to receive the CompTIA A+ certification, candidates must pass two exams: 220-901 and 220-902. Successful candidates will have the knowledge required to:

  • Assemble components based on customer requirements
  • Install, configure and maintain devices, PCs and software for end users
  • Understand the basics of networking and security, including forensics
  • Apply troubleshooting skills to diagnose, resolve and document common hardware and software issues
  • Provide appropriate customer support
  • Understand the basics of virtualization, desktop imaging and deployment

CompTIA A+ is accredited by ANSI as meeting the ISO/IEC 17024 standard and is approved by U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) to fulfill Directive 8570.01-M requirements. The median annual wage for computer user support specialists was $53,100 in May 2016.

What jobs can I get?
Technical Support Specialist
IT Support Technician
Field Service Technician
Desktop Support Analyst
Help Desk Tier 2 Support

Want a government job?
CompTIA Certifications Meet Department of Defense (DoD) 8570.01-M Requirements.

CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, CompTIA Security+, CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) and CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) certifications have been approved as IA baseline certifications for the IA workforce as part of the IA Workforce Improvement Program (DoD 8570.01-M) and are included in the State Department Skills Incentive Program.

Government agencies and contractors that currently employ CompTIA certified professionals include:

  • U.S. Department of Defense – all components
  • U.S. Intelligence Community Agencies
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S Department of Justice
  • U.S Department of State
  • Most other U.S. federal government agencies

What experience should I have?
Recommended Experience:
CompTIA IT Fundamentals course or have some basic experience using a PC, Windows, and browsing the web and 6 to 12 months hands-on experience in the lab or field.

(All information provided from CompTIA, comptia.org)

The Catholic University of America is a Registered Academy Partner with CompTIA