May 17, 2018
students inducted into honor society
MSPS’s Iota Kappa chapter of the Alpha Sigma Lambda honorary society inducted six new members on May 11, following an earlier induction of two other students who had schedule conflicts.  The students inducted were Chris L. Allen, Marilyn M. Brown, Silvina Cerezo, Andrea Jacobs-Cohen, Matthew Morris, Kudakwashe D. Mundopa, and Deborah Nicholson.

Inducted as an honorary member was MSPS adjunct faculty member Larry Robertson, Vice President/Project Director at JBS International, Inc. He exhorted the inductees to embrace "passions, values and talents" in their careers. "Do something that you would do even if you weren't paid for it," he advised.

Immediately after the induction ceremony, the new members of ASL were also honored at the university-wide Undergraduate Honors Convocation as part of the university's commencement-week ceremonies.

Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society partners with colleges and universities to celebrate the scholarship and leadership of adult students in higher education. ASLHS is devoted to the advancement of scholarship and recognition of nontraditional students continuing their education.  Only the top 10% of undergraduates at the Metropolitan School are eligible for induction into the Iota Kappa chapter.